Maw

Crawling through the darkness with the light on my suit showing the way, I exited the small cave and found myself below a great hole above where I could see the sky and above a vast black pit, the bottom of which I couldn’t see. Around me pillars of rock resembled the teeth of some giant animal.

I did some quick tests on the rocks around me and the D’ni tool puts it as a form of dense basalt with lines of a kind of marble. I also tested for how deep the canyon goes and it came up as approximately four miles. After the first survey, I attached some firemarble lamps using a rock-insertion technique that seems to hold well enough (one broke in a lower cave, but it doesn’t matter).

I sent the book off to the Maintainers so the book should be available to anyone who wants it soon.

This entry was posted in Explorations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

